Archive for July 15, 2012

“It was so nice to see you again, Jake. Don’t be such a stranger this time, okay? If you ever want to visit again, mi casa es su casa. ¿De acuerdo?”

*grins* “Alright. I promise. And hopefully next time I’ll get Mom and Tracy to come.”

“That would be wonderful. I used to love sitting and talking with your mother. It could be like old times again.” *grins*

“Definitely. I’ll make sure to call, too.”

“Great! Bree would love that.”

“I bet she would.”

“Ewwwww! Rodger! Stop being gross! Tu primo is leaving and you decide to make out with your girlfriend? Get your priorities straight, bro.” *rolls eyes*

“Shut up, Bridgitte!”

“Hey, it’s not my fault you decided to do this out in the open. Get a room if you want to get like that. Eso es sólo desagradable.” *shakes head*

*rolls eyes* “Whatever.”

“Now Jake, I KNOW you didn’t think you were gonna’ get off that easy.”

*laughs* “What are you talking about?”

“You! Thinking you could leave without saying goodbye. I see you.” *narrows eyes*

“No I wasn’t.”

“Ummhmm. Suuuure you wasn’t.”

*laughs* “Get over here.”

“I’m gonna’ miss you, Jake.”

“I’m gonna’ miss you, too.”

“You better visit, or call me, or email me. If not I’m gonna’ blow up your phone with messages and calls.”

*laughs* “Don’t worry, I’ll keep in touch. You’ll be hearing a lot more from me now.”

“That’s good. It’s nice to have my big cousin back. It was weird here without you.”

“Well now I’mma bother you so much, you’re going to want to shoot me.” *grins* “And don’t forget, you can always come visit me in the city. I know Will wouldn’t mind, and Mom and Tracy would love to see you.”

“I’ll definitely look into that.” *grins*

“You know, you never played that game of hide and seek with me.”

“I didn’t?”

“Nooo. And you promised.”

“I still played with you though.”

“Yeah, but not Hide and Seeeek. You just played video games.” *grins*

“I’m sorry for not wanting to say hi to you when you first got here. I mean, after you were here for a few days, you’re not that bad.”

*smirks* “Thanks, Marina. You’re not that bad either.”

*grins* “I’m going to miss you. Are you going to come back soon?”

“I’ll try to.”

“Okay. And next time, you’re going to play hide and seek with me.”

*smiles* “Okay. I promise.”

*smirks* “You didn’t think I’d just let you go without saying goodbye, now did you?”

*laughs* “Of course not.”

“Good. Now where’s your next game?”

“Here. I just have to go meet my team at their hotel. Haven’t practiced in almost a week.”

“You’ll be fine. Just make sure you call up that friend of yours. She might get lonely in that apartment all by herself.”

*laughs* “Will? Nah, she’s fine. She likes to be alone a lot of times.”

“Okay. That’s good. Oh, and Jake. One more thing. When you get back to the city, tell her how you feel.”

*confused* “How did you–”

*puts up hand* “Bridgitte told me, but I was catching on before I found out.”

*mumbles* “I have got to stop being so damn obvious.”

*laughs* “Jake, it’s okay to love someone. Everyone needs somebody. But what’s not okay is letting that someone slip away without giving yourself a fair chance to have them.”

“But–”

*puts hand up* “That’s all I’m going to say and I want you to think about it when you leave. Alright? Now, here’s Lola. She’s been stretching for you for a good five minutes. I guess she wants to get in on the good bye train, too.”

“Hey there, niña. You wanted to say bye to me?”

*shakes head* “No!”

“Really? That’s not very nice.”

*pouts* “Jay Jay go bye-bye?”

*nods* “Yup. I’ll come back to see you though. Hopefully when you’re out of your terrible twos.”

“No! Jay Jay stay! Wit Lola!”

“I wish I could, sweetie, but I have to go.”

“Buh Lola no wann you tah go.” *pouts*

*laughs* “You are just so stubborn. Did you know that? What am I saying? Of course you don’t.”

*confused* “Whah?”

“I promise I’ll see you again. ”

“No!!! Jay Jay no go!!!”

“I have to, Niña. Just remember, Jay Jay loves you.”

“And Lola loves Jay Jay.” *grins*

*smiles* “That’s my girl.”

“It was nice seeing you today, Mason.”

“You say that everyday.” *laughs*

“Because I mean it everyday.”

“Bye Rod. It was nice seeing you.”

“Could you wait here for one second?”

“Sure.”

“I see you decided to come and say bye.”

“Why wouldn’t I?”

“You just seemed a little busy.” *smirks*

*laughs* “Shut up.”

*laughs* “Don’t get so defensive. It’s cool. She’s a nice girl. Make sure you keep her close.”

“I plan to. Just like you need to tell Will–“

“I swear, I can’t tell Bridgitte anything!”

*laughs* “You obviously forgot how much she likes to talk.”

“Obviously.”

“Alright, I better be going. My coach is going to have a fit if I don’t get to the hotel soon.”

*smirks* “Wouldn’t want his star player to be late.”

*laughs* “Whatever. Oh, and make sure to get Bree back for me.”

“Hey! You’re gonna’ get me pounded!”

“Not if you’re smart. You remember the pranks I taught you, right?”

*excited* “Forgot about those. I think we have some kool-aid in the cabinets that I can put in one of her bottles of hair stuff.” *grins*

*noogies playfully* “Now that’s what I’m talking about.” *laughs* “I really have to go. Bye Rod.”

It felt weird to leave again. Everything about this place felt like home to me. From the smell of platanos rising from the kitchen to the noise of my cousins yelling throughout the house. It’s everything I’ve been missing since we’ve moved and more. But after today, I plan on not having to miss this. Because family should never be left behind, and that’s what I plan to do. To keep the ones I love close, no matter what.